تحميل ...

أشكال شنومكس مجتمعة


الدكتور بول لام
هذه المجموعة يمكن أن تكون مناسبة لأي شخص تقريبا واكتساب شعبية بسرعة منذ إنشائها في شنومكس. توضح هذه المقالة خلفية وهيكل، فضلا عن تاريخ موجز من أشكال شنومكس الأكثر شعبية. نماذج شنومك هي المسابقات الرسمية أشكال في جميع المسابقات الدولية الكبرى.
حقوق التأليف والنشر الدكتور بول لام. جميع الحقوق محفوظة ، لا يجوز نسخ أي جزء من هذه المادة بأي شكل أو بأي وسيلة ، دون الحصول على إذن كتابي.
الأشكال المشتركة شنومك التعليمية دي في دي/أشرطة الفيديو من قبل الدكتور لام متاحة على الخط.

ملخص: هذه المجموعة يمكن أن تكون مناسبة لأي شخص تقريبا وتكتسب شعبية بسرعة منذ إنشائها في 1990. توضح هذه المقالة خلفيتها وهيكلها ، بالإضافة إلى تاريخ موجز لأشكال 24 الأكثر شيوعًا. نماذج 42 هي نماذج المسابقات الرسمية في جميع المسابقات الدولية الرئيسية.

Photo 1 Dr Paul Lam Forms 16 Heel Kick صور شنومكس الدكتور بول لام أشكال شنومك كعب ركلة

ما هي مجموعة تاي تشي فورمز؟

تاي تشي فن قوي من العمق مجموعة من النماذج أو الروتين هو أساس هذا الفن. لا يمكن للمرء أن يتخيل ممارسة تاي تشي دون القيام بمجموعة واحدة من النماذج أو غيرها. وفقا ليانغ تشان فو (الذي يعرفه الكثيرون بأنه الأب الحديث لتاي تشي في 30's) "لبدء تعلم تاي تشي عليك أن تبدأ مع النماذج". هناك العديد من أنماط تاي تشي ، وداخل كل نمط ، لديها أشكال مختلفة. حتى مع مجموعة واحدة معروفة من النماذج ، هناك العديد من الإصدارات. قد يشعر الطلاب بالارتباك في مواجهة العديد من الخيارات ، أو قد يأخذونها كميزة للحصول على العديد من الخيارات المتاحة.

لماذا يجب علينا معرفة المزيد عن الأشكال المختلفة؟

في حين يمكن للمرء أن يمارس مجموعة واحدة من النماذج ويصبح خبيرا حقيقيا في تاي تشي ، هناك العديد من المزايا التي تتعلم المزيد من المجموعات. تتميز المجموعات والأساليب المختلفة للنماذج بخصائصها ونقاط اهتمامها الفريدة الخاصة بها. تعلم المزيد من المجموعات يثري تقنيات المرء ، ويوسع الأفق ، وهو أمر ممتع وصعب. بالنسبة للكثيرين ، يساعد تعلم مجموعات مختلفة في تحسين مستويات تاي تشي بشكل أسرع.

بما أن النماذج والأساليب المختلفة لها خصائصها الفريدة وقد تكون بعض الخصائص أكثر ملاءمة لشخص واحد من آخر ، فمن المفيد فحص النماذج والأنماط المختلفة. العديد من النماذج التقليدية ممتازة ، ولكن ليست كل الأشكال التقليدية جيدة لمجرد أنها أقدم. بعض من هذه النماذج الممتازة قد لا تكون مناسبة للوقت الحديث. تتميز نماذج 42 بالعديد من الميزات والمزايا مقارنة بالعديد من الميزات الأخرى.

ميزة فهم الخلفية وهيكل مجموعة من النماذج

لتعلم مجموعة من النماذج ، من المفيد والمفيد فهم هيكله وتاريخ الخلفية. مثل فنان يلعب مقطوعة موسيقية ، من الممكن أن يلعب الموسيقى بشكل جيد ، ولكن لتشغيلها كقطعة فنية يصبح من الضروري فهم المعنى الداخلي ، نية الملحن وهيكل القطعة. في الواقع ، يجد معظم الفنانين ذلك قبل أن يبدأوا في دراسة العمل بجدية. إنها فكرة جيدة بالنسبة لنا أن نعرف أكبر قدر ممكن عن مجموعة من النماذج قبل تعلمها ، حتى لو لم نتعلمها ، سوف نتعلم شيئًا عن تاي تشي من تاريخ الخلفية.

قد يكون ذلك صعباً على المجموعة القديمة من النماذج لأن تاريخ الفن القتالي الصيني مختلط بالعديد من الأساطير. ليس من الممكن دائمًا معرفة الإصدار الصحيح. لحسن الحظ للنماذج الحديثة ، لدينا فرصة أفضل للعثور على معلومات أكثر دقة.

تاريخ تاي تشي وأشكال

يستخدم تاي تشي التقنيات التي يمكن أن تعود إلى أكثر من ألف سنة. ومع ذلك ، يرجع تاريخ "تاي تشي" الخاضع للمساءلة إلى القرن 16th في قرية تشن في محافظة ون شيان بمقاطعة خنان. مثل معظم الفنون العظيمة التي تنجو وتتحسن بمرور الوقت ، مرت تاي تشي بتغيرات كبيرة. مع تغيرات الوقت ، تغيرت احتياجات المجتمع وتطور تاي تشي لمواجهة تحدي الزمن. على سبيل المثال ، تعتبر الحاجة إلى الدفاع عن النفس أقل أهمية في الوقت الحاضر ، لذا فقد ثبت أن تاي تشي واحدة من أكثر التمارين فاعلية إن لم تكن أكثر فعالية للصحة.

صور شنومك دفع الأيديصورة 2 دفع اليدين

من أسلوب تشن يأتي أسلوب يانغ التي أنشأها يانغ لوشان ، من كل من أنماط تشن ويانغ قد نشأت أنماط أخرى مثل الشمس وو وو نمط. بعض من هذه النماذج القديمة لديها مشاكل معينة في العصر الحديث. على سبيل المثال ، يحتوي نمط Chen على مجموعتين من النماذج ، المجموعة الأولى هي نماذج 83 (المعروفة باللغة الصينية باعتبارها الطريق الأول) وتستغرق حوالي 35 دقيقة لإكمال هذه النماذج. المجموعة الثانية (The Cannon Fists) هي أصعب وأكثر قوة. قيل أنه إذا كنت تعمل بجد في 83 Forms بدوام كامل لمدة ثلاث سنوات ، فأنت على استعداد لتعلم المجموعة الثانية. قد يكون هذا مناسبًا إذا قمنا بعمل دورة تاي تشي جامعة. يمكن للطلاب دراسة أول مجموعة بدوام كامل لمدة ثلاث سنوات على درجة البكالوريوس ، ثم جعل المجموعة الثانية على درجة الدراسات العليا. في حين أن العديد من المتحمسين يودون رؤية هذا الواقع ، فإن هذا غير مناسب بالنسبة لمعظمنا. خذ مثالاً آخر ، نمط يانغ الكلاسيكي ، تأخذ نماذج 88 تقريباً 30 إلى 40 لممارسة التدريبات ، ناهيك عن المدة التي سيستغرقها التعلم. بعد تعلمه ، إذا كنت ستمارس ثلاث جولات فقط من المجموعة في اليوم ، فستحتاج إلى ساعتين تقريبًا. سيجد معظم طلابنا صعوبة في تخصيص ساعات 2 في اليوم للممارسة ، ناهيك عن الدوافع المطلوبة.

أصل نماذج 24

من المفهوم جيداً أن الكثير من الناس ليسوا مستعدين أو قادرين على قضاء ساعتين في اليوم لممارسة تاي تشي. بما أن معظم الممارسين يستخدمون تاي تشي لتحسين الصحة ، فليس هناك حاجة للقيام بذلك. هذا لا يعني أن المبادئ الأساسية والقوة الجوهرية للفن يجب أن تتغير.

من أجل تعميم تاي تشي. اللجنة الصينية الوطنية للرياضة قد سمحت لخبراء تاي تشي الأربعة الأكثر شهرة في البلاد بتأليف نماذج 24. استناداً بشكل رئيسي على أسلوب يانغ ، وبإزالة العديد من التكرار والاحتفاظ بمعظم المبادئ الأساسية لتاي تشي ، تم تكثيف أشكال 88 إلى نماذج 24 فقط. نماذج 24 أسهل في التعلم والتذكر والممارسة ، تستغرق المجموعة بأكملها حوالي خمس دقائق. يمكن لشخص مشغول القيام بثلاث جولات في دقائق 20 (بما في ذلك تمارين الاحماء). هذا سيكون كافيا لتحسين والحفاظ على صحة جيدة. تستند معظم الدراسات السريرية على العديد من الفوائد الصحية لتاي تشي على الأشخاص الذين يمارسون هذه المجموعة من النماذج. أصبحت نماذج 24 بسرعة أكثر النماذج شيوعًا في العالم.
انقر للتعليم دي في دي/فيديو من نماذج شنومكس، أو الكتاب تاي تشي للمبتدئين وأشكال 24.

أصل النماذج المشتركة الأولى ؛ نماذج 48

بعد إنشاء نماذج 24 ، يأتي الطلب المتزايد على نماذج أكثر صعوبة لأغراض مزيد من الدراسات والتوضيحات. في 1976 ، تم إنشاء نماذج 48 مجتمعة من قبل ثلاثة خبراء تاي تشي برئاسة الأستاذ هوى فنغ.

تم إنشاء النماذج المجمعة على أساس الجمع والتكثيف للنماذج الكلاسيكية للأساليب الرئيسية الأربعة ، وهي Chen و Yang و Wu و Sun. والفكرة هي أن تأخذ الأفضل من جميع الأنماط والتعبير عنها في فترة قصيرة من الزمن ، وليس على خلاف النسخة المختارة من ريدرز من الروايات الكلاسيكية. أثبتت هذه الفكرة أنها تحظى بشعبية كبيرة وفعالة. في عصر الفضاء ، نريد أن نتعلم كل شيء بسرعة ، وأن نحصل على الفوائد القصوى في أقل وقت ممكن. هذا لا يهدف إلى إبطال الحاجة إلى الوقت والصبر لتعلم وممارسة تاي تشي. من الممكن تحقيق هدف محدد بوقت أقل إذا حددنا هدفنا بوضوح وخطة بعناية.

أصل نماذج 42

في وقت لاحق أصبح تاي تشي أكثر شعبية ، والمنافسة تزدهر خاصة داخل الصين. عندما تكون هناك منافسة ، هناك دائما قواعد والحدود الزمنية تصبح قضية مهمة. يتم تعيين الحد الزمني العملي على ست دقائق لمعظم المسابقات في الصين. عادة ما يتكثف المنافس من اختيارهم للنماذج لست دقائق ، لذلك في المنافسة ، سيقوم كل منافس بأداء مجموعات مختلفة من النماذج. هذا يخلق صعوبات مثل وضع معايير خاصة عندما يكون المنافسين قريبين جدا من مهاراتهم.

صور شنومك: نموذج شنومكس سوط واحدصورة 3: Form 12 Single Whip

في أواخر الثمانينات ، أدركت اللجنة الرياضية الصينية الحاجة إلى توحيد نماذج المنافسة. كان قد اختار الأساليب الرئيسية الأربعة ونماذج مجتمعة. تم إنشاء هذه المجموعات الخمس من النماذج من قبل فرق مختلفة من الخبراء ، وتمت الموافقة عليها في وقت لاحق من قبل لجنة خبراء تاي تشي في الصين. تم تسمية جميع مجموعات النماذج التي تم إنشاؤها على هذا النحو بعد أسلوبها ، على سبيل المثال ، نماذج المنافسة الوطنية على غرار تشن هي نماذج 56 ، وهلم جرا. النماذج المجمعة هي نماذج 42 أو ببساطة نماذج المنافسة ، كما هو معروف في الصين. منذ إنشاء هذه النماذج ، أصبحت المجموعات الأساسية والأكثر رغبة في المسابقات. تم إنشاء الكتب ومقاطع الفيديو لهذه الاستمارات من قبل هيئة الرياضة الصينية.

إن الشعبية الهائلة لأشكال 42 منذ إنشائها هي مؤشر على مدى جودة تكوينها. في أكتوبر 1990 ، عُقدت دورة الألعاب الآسيوية 11th في بكين ، الصين. لأول مرة في تاريخ الألعاب الآسيوية ، أدرجت Wushu (فنون الدفاع عن النفس) كبند للمنافسة. نماذج 42 هي النماذج الوحيدة التي يتم اختيارها لتمثيل تاي تشي.

في الواقع ، فإن إنشاء هذه المجموعات لها فوائد أكثر بكثير من كونها مفيدة في المسابقات. مجموعات معيارية (في حين يقال أن العديد من المجموعات التقليدية موحدة ولكن ليست دقيقة مثل هذه. هناك دائما الخلط مع المجموعات التقليدية التي هي الأكثر أصالة ، في حين أن هذه المجموعات موحدة بشكل دقيق مع الكتب ومقاطع الفيديو) لها آثار إيجابية هائلة على الفهم و تحسين تاي تشي بشكل عام. مثلما توحيد اللغات الصينية من قبل أسرة تشينغ ، كان تأثيرها أكبر بكثير مما كان يمكن لأي شخص أن يتخيله. إذا لم يكن لدى الصين توحيد اللغة ، لما كانت اللغة قد تطورت بشكل جيد ، ولا ثقافة الصين ووحدتها. بالطبع توحيد أي شيء له آثار إيجابية وسلبية ، كثير النظر في تطوير تاي تشي ، لديها آثار إيجابية لا حد لها.
شكل شنومك باري وتتحول إلى لكمة

تاريخ الخلفية لأشكال 42

وصف موجز جدًا لنماذج 42 هو أنه إصدار مختلق من نماذج 48 ، ويستند بشكل أساسي إلى نماذج 48. أحد الاختلافات الرئيسية هو أن هناك ثلاثة تكرار في نماذج 48 ، فإن نماذج 42 لديها اثنين فقط.

هيكل نماذج 24

تحتوي نماذج 24 على بنية منطقية ، وهي مقسمة إلى أربعة أقسام. يتكون القسم الأول من التمدد اللطيف للأطراف العلوية والسفلية ، والذي يعمل كاحترار للأجزاء المتأخرة ، مثل حركة "فراق فرس الحصان البري". أما القسم الثاني فهو أكثر صعوبة مع زيادة تمدد وتحول الجسم ، مثل حركة "Stroking Bird's Tail" التي تعبر عن "موضوع" هذه الأشكال (هذه الحركة تحتوي على أربع حركات أساسية من دفع اليدين ، هو الشكل الأكثر أهمية من المجموعة). القسم الثالث يحتوي على ذروة حيث يتم تنفيذ الأجزاء الأكثر صعوبة ، مثل "كعب ركلات". يحتوي القسم الرابع على تحركات صعبة تقنياً مثل "إبرة في قاع البحر" ، ولكن ليس كحاجة ماسة للثالثة. وفي وقت لاحق ، تعمل الحركات الأبطأ مثل "الانغلاق الظاهر" كالتأقلم مع التمرين. وبصرف النظر عن المبادئ التقليدية لتاي تشي ، فقد أدرجت أشكال 24 مبادئ علم وظائف الأعضاء والعلوم الطبية الحديثة.

هيكل نماذج 42

تحتوي نماذج 42 على المبادئ الأساسية والخصائص الهامة للأنماط الرئيسية الأربعة ، وتحتفظ بالمبادئ التقليدية لتاي تشي ، وهي غنية بالمحتوى والتقنية ، ومبنية بدقة ومتوافقة تمامًا مع قواعد المنافسة.

من حيث الهيكل ، فإنه يتبع المبدأ العام لأشكال 24 ولكن مع بعض الاختلافات الهامة. يبدأ من نموذج 2 Stroking Birds Tail مباشرة بعد نموذج 1 لبدء النموذج. تعرض هذه الحركة التقنية والأسلوب لجذب الاهتمام والاهتمام بالناس (لكل من الممارس والمتفرج) ، ومع ذلك فهي لا تزال توفر تمددًا لطيفًا للجسم العلوي والسفلي. أما الجزء المتبقي من القسم الأول فيعمل أيضًا كحمايه ولكن مع حركات أكثر جوهرية من تلك الخاصة بأشكال 24.

صور شنومكس: شكل شنومكس غطاء مع اليد ولكمة مع قبضةصورة 4: نموذج 17 مع غطاء اليد وكمة مع القبضة

يبدأ القسم الثاني بنموذج "11" و "إغلاق" طراز "صن" ، ليس فقط هذه الحركة الأكثر تميزًا لأسلوب الشمس ، بل إنه يدل أيضًا على أهمية كيغونغ داخل المجموعة. بالقرب من نهاية هذا القسم ، تظهر الذروة الأولى مع نموذج 17 Cover مع Hand and Punch مع Fistand Forms 18 Parting Wild Man's Mane من نمط تشن الأكثر نشاطًا. نظرًا لوجود المزيد من المحتويات في نماذج 42 ، هناك حاجة إلى اثنين من ذروتها. يبدأ القسم 3 مع نموذج 19 وهو يلوح بالأيدي مثل السحب حركة أبطأ وأسهل لتفتيت الشدة ، ثم إلى حركات أكثر صعوبة للتحضير للتالي. يبدأ الذروة الثانية مع القسم الرابع من خلال الحركات مثل نموذج 32 Body Thrust مع نصف موقف الحصان ، شكل 33 Turn Body مع التدحرج الكامل و Forms 34 Hold and Punch in Crossed Squatting Stance. ثم من المنطقي أن يأتي التصفية إلى نهاية مع آخر نموذج 40 التمسيد طائر الذيل على الجانب الآخر.

يتم الحفاظ على توازن الجسم في جميع أنحاء النموذج من خلال إعطاء عدد متساوٍ تقريبًا من الحركات للجانبين (العديد من النماذج التقليدية لها فقط حركات الجانب الأيمن). يتم تشكيل كل حركة بعناية لتوفير ممارسة مناسبة لجميع أجزاء الجسم ، لتحسين الاسترخاء الذهني والتركيز الذهني ، للحصول على مجموعة واسعة من تقنيات تاي تشي وتحسين وظيفة جميع الأعضاء الداخلية.

صور شنومكس: شكل شنومكس تحويل الجسم مع كامل لفة العودةصورة 5: شكل 33 بدوره الجسم مع التراجع الكامل

تكوين نماذج 42

في حين أن نماذج 42 هي مزيج من أربعة أنماط رئيسية ، لا يتم تمثيل كل stype بنسب متساوية ، فإن غالبية النماذج هي نمط Yang. كونه النمط الأكثر شعبية ، والذي يتميز بحركات لطيفة ورشيقة ، فمن المناسب أن يكون يانغ لبنات البناء الرئيسية للمجموعة.

شكل 11 فتح وإغلاق الأيدي ، أشكال 12 Single Whip ، أشكال 14 Turn Body و Push Palm هي نمط الشمس. وهي تتميز بتدفق الحركة مثل الماء في مجرى مائي ، وممارسة كيغونغ (تشونغ قونغ) مثل Form 11 ، وكلما تقدم قدم واحد إلى الأمام أو الخلف ، فإن القدم الأخرى تتبع ذلك. سيلاحظ ممارس أسلوب يانغ الفرق الكبير في نموذج 12 في صن وأساليب يانغ.

شكل 17 تغطية مع اليد ولكمة مع قبضة ، شكل 18 فراق برية الحصان البرية ونموذج 32 الجسم التوجه مع موقف الحصان نصف هي نمط تشن. تتميز تشن بأنها أكثر قوة ، وتحتوي على حركات مهاجمة وأكثر وضوحا في تطبيق الدفاع عن النفس. حركات التثقيب متوفرة في أسلوب تشن ، ويعد نموذج 17 مثالًا نموذجيًا عليها.

Forms 20 Step Back to Subdue Tiger، Forms 21 Kicking with Toes Forward، Form 34 Hold and Punch in Crossed Squatting Stance and Forms 35 Thread Palm and Lowering Movements are Wu style، which featuring by close the body movement and vital steps.

شكل شنومك: رسم القوس لاطلاق النار النمرصور 6: نموذج 39: رسم القوس لإطلاق النار على النمر

الايجابيات في نماذج 42

إنه لأمر مدهش أن يكون لديك مجموعة من النماذج التي تحتضن أربعة أنماط رئيسية حتى الآن لها حياة وروح. إنه غني بالمحتويات والتقنيات ولكنه مناسب لأي شخص تقريباً للتعلم.

كما نجحت في:

  • ويعبر عن المتطلبات الأساسية لتاي تشي مثل الهدوء والجسم المريح ، والمكون الداخلي (العقلية ، أو إرادتك) يقود الحركة الخارجية للجسم والنعومة تكمل الصلابة.
  • يحتفظ بالمبادئ التقليدية لتاي تشي.
  • يدمج معرفة العلوم الطبية الحديثة بحيث تصبح الأشكال أكثر توازناً ، صوتاً فسيولوجياً وأكثر صحة.

إن القيام بكل ذلك في غضون ست دقائق يعد إنجازاً حقيقياً.

سلبيات نماذج 42

من الصعب جداً التفكير في أي نقطة سلبية لـ 42 Forms ، ربما قد يجد المبتدئون أنه من الأسهل تعلم نماذج 24 أولاً قبل البدء في نماذج 42 ، حيث أن الأمر أكثر صعوبة. وهي مجموعة "شابة" نسبياً ، ولذلك تم اختبارها علميًا لفوائدها الصحية. على الرغم من أنه يعتمد على معرفتنا للطب وتاي تشي ، يعتقد الكثيرون أنه يجب أن يكون له فوائد أكبر من استمارات 24. بالنسبة لغرض عدم التنافس ، أفضّل بشكلٍ طفيف نماذج 48 لأنها تتيح المزيد من الوقت للتعبير عن المحتويات.

في حين أن الحد الزمني للمنافسة هو 6 دقيقة ، والتي لا تسمح بتعبير أكثر اكتمالا عن البطء بالقوة الداخلية ، من أجل الممارسة المعتادة ، يوصى بعمل النماذج من 6 إلى 10 دقيقة.

موجز

تم إنشاء نماذج 42 بشكل جيد مع قدر كبير من التفكير والعمل. يحتوي على مزيج غني من الأساليب والتقنيات ، لكنه يتنفس حياة خاصة به كمجموعة متكاملة رائعة من النماذج. تم تصميمه ليكون مناسبًا من المبتدئين إلى أكثر الممارسين تطوراً ، مما يلبي الاحتياجات الحديثة ، ويقدم أقصى قدر من الفوائد والتقنيات في أقل وقت ممكن. كونها جميلة لمشاهدة وممارسة ، أثبتت 42 Forms بالتأكيد أنها تحظى بشعبية كبيرة مع العديد من المتحمسين تاي تشي.

مواكبة مع الأخبار والأحداث وأكثر من ذلك.

اشترك في النشرة المجانية Tai Chi for Health

2013-12-12T06:40:28+00:00

The Combined 42 Forms


Dr Paul Lam
This set can be suitable for almost anyone and is gaining popularity rapidly since its creation in 1990. This article outlines its background and structure, as well as a brief history of the most popular 24 Forms. The 42 Forms is the official competitions Forms in all major international competitions.
Copyrights Dr Paul Lam. All rights reserved, no part of this article may be reproduced in any forms or by any means, without permission in writing.
The 42 Combined Forms instructional DVD/videos by Dr Lam are available on line.

Synopsis: This set can be suitable for almost anyone and is gaining popularity rapidly since its creation in 1990. This article outlines its background and structure, as well as a brief history of the most popular 24 Forms. The 42 Forms is the official competitions Forms in all major international competitions.

Photo 1 Dr Paul Lam Forms 16 Heel Kick Photo 1 Dr Paul Lam Forms 16 Heel Kick

What is a Set of Tai Chi Forms?

Tai Chi is a powerful art of immense depth; the set of Forms or the routine is the foundation of this art. One cannot imagine practising Tai Chi without doing one set of Forms or another. According to Yang Chan Fu (who is known by many as the modern father of Tai Chi in the 30’s) “to start learning Tai Chi you have to start with the Forms”. There are many styles of Tai Chi, and within each style, it has different Forms. Even with one well-known set of Forms, there are many versions. Students might feel confused facing so many choices, or they could take it as an advantage to have so many choices available.

Why Should We Find Out More about Different Forms?

While one can practise one set of Forms and become a real expert on Tai Chi, there are many advantages learning more sets. Different sets and styles of Forms have their own unique characteristics and points of interest. Learning more sets enriches one’s techniques, broaden horizon and is a fun and challenging thing to do. To many, learning different sets helps to improve the levels of their Tai Chi faster.

Since different Forms and styles have their unique characteristics and some characteristics might be more suitable to one person than another, it is beneficial to examine different Forms and styles. Many traditional Forms are excellent, but not all traditional Forms are good simply because they are older. Some of these excellent Forms might not be suitable for modern time. The 42 Forms has many features and advantages compare to many others.

The Advantage of Understanding the Background and Structure of a Set of Forms

To learn a set of Forms it is helpful and interesting to understand its structure and background history. Like an artist playing a musical composition, it is possible to play the music well, but to play it as a piece of art it becomes necessary to understand the inner meaning, the composer’s intention and the structure of the piece. In fact, most artists find these out before they start to study the work seriously. It is a good idea for us to know as much as possible about a set of Forms before learning it, even if we were not learning it, we will learn something about Tai Chi from its background history.

This can be difficult for the older set of Forms since Chinese martial art history is mixed with many legends; it is not always possible to find out the true version. Fortunately for the modern Forms, we have a better chance to find out information that is more accurate.

History of Tai Chi and Forms

Tai Chi utilises techniques that could date back to more than a thousand years. However, the accountable history of Tai Chi dates back to the 16th Century in the Chen Village in Wen Xian County, Henan Province. Like most great arts which survives and improves with the passage of time, Tai Chi went through a great deal of changes. With changes of time, the needs in society changes and Tai Chi has evolved to meet the challenge of time. For example, the need for self defence is of less importance nowadays, so Tai Chi has been proven to be one of the most effective if not the most effective exercises for health.

Photo 2 Pushing Hands Photo 2 Pushing Hands

From Chen style comes Yang style created by Yang Luchan, from both Chen and Yang styles other styles such as Sun, Wu and Wu Style have originated. Some of these older Forms have certain problems in modern time. For instance, the Chen style has two sets of Forms, the first set is the 83 Forms (known in Chinese as the first road) and it takes approximately 35 minutes to complete these Forms. The second set (The Cannon Fists) is harder and more vigorous. It was said that if you work hard at the 83 Forms full time for three years, then you are ready to learn the second set. This may be suitable if we make Tai Chi a University course. Students can study the first set full time for three years as a Bachelor degree, then make the second set a post-graduate degree. While many enthusiasts would like to see this made reality, for most of us, this is not suitable. Take another example, the classical Yang style, the 88 Forms takes approximately 30 to 40 minutes to practise, not to mention how long it will take to learn. After learning it, if you were to practise just three rounds of the set per day then you will need approximately two hours. Most of our students will find it difficult to devote 2 hours per day for practise, not to mention the motivation needed.

The Origin of the 24 Forms

It is well understood that not many people are willing or able to spend two hours per day to practise Tai Chi. Since most practitioners use Tai Chi for health improvement, there is no need for doing this. This is not to say the fundamental principles and the intrinsic power of the art should be changed.

In order to popularise Tai Chi; the Chinese National Sports Committee had authorised the country’s four most renowned Tai Chi experts to compose The 24 Forms. Based mainly on the Yang style, and by eliminating many repetitions and retaining most of the essential principles of Tai Chi, the 88 Forms was condensed to only 24 Forms. The 24 Forms is easier to learn, to remember and practice, the whole set takes around five minutes. A busy person can do three rounds in 20 minutes (including warm up exercises). This will be adequate to improve and maintain good health. Most clinical studies on the many health benefits of Tai Chi are based on people practising this set of Forms. The 24 Forms very quickly became the most popular Forms in the world.
Click for the instructional DVD/video of the 24 Forms, or the book Tai Chi for Beginners and the 24 Forms.

The Origin of the First Combined Forms; the 48 Forms

After the creation of The 24 Forms, there comes a growing demand for more difficult Forms for the purposes of further studies and demonstration. In 1976, the Combined 48 Forms were created by three Tai Chi experts headed by Professor Men Hui Feng.

The combined Forms were created based on combining and condensing classical Forms of the four major styles, namely Chen, Yang, Wu and Sun. The idea is to take the best of all styles and to express these in a short space of time, not unlike the Reader’s Digest condensed version of classical novels. This idea proved to be very popular and effective. In the space age, we want to learn everything quickly, and to obtain the maximal benefits within minimal time. This is not meant to negate the need of time and patience to learn and practice Tai Chi. It is possible to achieve a specific goal with less time if we define our goal clearly and plan carefully.

The Origin of the 42 Forms

Later as Tai Chi became more popular, competition flourishes especially within China. When there is competition there are always rules and time limit becomes an important issue. The practical time limit is set on six minutes for most competitions in China. Competitor usually condenses their choice of Forms to six minutes, so in a competition every competitor will be performing different sets of Forms. This creates difficulties such as setting the standards especial when the competitors are very close in their skills.

Photo 3: Form 12 Single WhipPhoto 3: Form 12 Single Whip

In the late eighties, the Chinese Sports Committee realised the need to standardise competition Forms. It had chosen the four major styles and a combined Forms. These five sets of Forms were created by different teams of experts, and later approved by a committee of Tai Chi experts in China. All sets of Forms thus created were named after their style, e.g., the Chen Style National Competition Forms is the 56 Forms, and so on. The combined Forms are The 42 Forms or simply the Competition Forms, as it is known in China. Since the creation of these Forms, they become the essential and most sought-after sets for competitions. Books and videos have been made for these Forms by the Chinese Sports Authority.

The immense popularity of The 42 Forms since its creation is an indication of how well it was composed. In October 1990, the 11th Asian Games were held in Beijing, China. For the first time in the history of the Asian Games, Wushu (martial arts) was included as an item for competition. The 42 Forms is the only Forms being chosen to represent Tai Chi.

In fact, the creation of these sets have much further benefits than being useful in competitions. Standardised sets (whilst many traditional sets are said to be standardised but not as precise as these. There are always confusion with traditional sets which is the most authentic, whereas these sets are standardised precisely with books and videos) have immense positive effects on understanding and improvement of Tai Chi in general. Like the standardise the Chinese languages by the Qing dynasty, it had far greater effect than anyone could imagine. If China did not have the standardisation of language, the language would not have developed so well, nor the culture and unity of China. Of course standardising any thing has positive and negative effects, many consider in terms of Tai Chi development, it has immeasurable positive effects.
Form 7 Parry and Turn to Punch

Background history of The 42 Forms

A very brief description of The 42 Forms is that it is a condensed version of The 48 Forms, and is based mainly on The 48 Forms. One of the main differences is that where are three repetitions in The 48 Forms, The 42 Forms has only two.

The Structure of the 24 Forms

The 24 Forms has a logical structure, and is divided into four sections. The first section consists of gentle stretching of the upper and lower limbs, which works as warming up for the later parts, such as the movement “Parting Wild Horse’s Mane”. The second section is more difficult with further stretching and turning of the body, such as the movement “Stroking Bird’s Tail” which expresses the ‘theme’ of this Forms (this movement contains the four basic moves of Push hands, is the most important form of the set). The third section contains the climax where the most difficult parts are executed, such as the “Heel Kicks”. The fourth section contains technically difficult moves such as the “Needle at The Sea Bottom”, but not as physically demanding as the third. Later slower movements such as “Apparent Closing Up” works as winding down exercise. Apart from the traditional principles of Tai Chi, the 24 Forms has incorporated principles of modern physiology and medical science.

The Structure of the 42 Forms

The 42 Forms contains the essential principles and important characteristics of the four major styles, retains the traditional principles of Tai Chi, is rich in content and technique, meticulous constructed and is fully compliant with competition rules.

In terms of structure, it follows the general principle of The 24 Forms but with some significant variations. It starts with Form 2 Stroking Birds Tail immediately after the Form 1 Commencing Form. This movement displays technique and style to attract peoples’ (for both the practitioner and the spectator) interest and attention, yet it still provides gentle stretching of the upper and lower body. The rest of the first section also serves as a warm up but with movements that are more substantial than those of the 24 Forms.

Photo 4: Form 17 Cover with Hand and Punch with FistPhoto 4: Form 17 Cover with Hand and Punch with Fist

The second section starts with the Sun style’s Form 11 Opening and Closing, not only is this the most characteristic movement of the Sun style, it also signifies the importance of Qigong within the set. Near the end of this section, the first climax appears with the Form 17 Cover with Hand and Punch with Fistand Forms 18 Parting Wild Horse’s Mane from the more vigorous Chen style. Since there are more contents in The 42 Forms, two climaxes are needed. Section 3 starts with Form 19 Waving Hands Like Clouds a slower and easier movement to break up the intensity, then to more difficult movements to prepare for the next. The second climax starts with the fourth section by the movements such as Form 32 Body Thrust with half Horse Stance, Form 33 Turn Body with Full Roll-Back and Forms 34 Hold and Punch in Crossed Squatting Stance. Then logically the winding down comes in to finished off with another Form 40 Stroking Bird’s Tail on the other side.

Throughout the Forms the balance of the body is well maintained by giving roughly equal numbers of movements for both sides (many of the traditional Forms only has the right-side movements). Each movement is carefully composed to provide suitable exercise for all parts of the body, to improve mental relaxation and mental concentration, to acquire a wide range of Tai Chi techniques and to improve the function of all internal organs.

Photo 5: Form 33 Turn Body with Full Roll-Back Photo 5: Form 33 Turn Body with Full Roll-Back

The Composition of 42 Forms

While the 42 Forms is the combination of four major styles, each stype is not represented in equal proportion, the majority of the Forms are Yang style. Being the most popular style, which is characterised by gentle and graceful movements, it is appropriate for Yang’s to be the main building blocks of the set.

Form 11 Opening and Closing of Hands, Forms 12 Single Whip, Forms 14 Turn Body and Push Palm are Sun style. They are characterised by flowing movement like water in a stream, much Qigong (Chi Gong) practise such as Form 11, and whenever one foot stepping forward or backward the other foot follows. Practitioner of Yang style will notice the significant difference of Form 12 in Sun and the Yang styles.

Form 17 Cover with Hand and Punch with Fist, Form 18 Parting Wild Horse’s Mane and Form 32 Body Thrust with Half Horse Stance are Chen Style. Chen’s is characterised by being more vigorous, containing attacking movements and more obvious in self defence application. Punching movements are abundant in Chen style and Form 17 is a typical example of them.

Forms 20 Step Back to Subdue Tiger, Forms 21 Kicking with Toes Forward, Form 34 Hold and Punch in Crossed Squatting Stance and Forms 35 Thread Palm and Lowering Movements are Wu style, which is characterised by close to body movements and lively steps.

Form 39: Drawing Bow to Shoot Tiger Photos 6: Form 39: Drawing Bow to Shoot Tiger

The Pros of The 42 Forms

It is amazing to have a set of Forms which embraces four major styles yet have its own life and spirit. It is rich in contents and techniques yet suitable for almost anyone to learn.

It also did well to:

  • Expresses and emphasises the fundamental requirements of Tai Chi such as tranquillity and relaxed body, internal component (mental, or your will) leads the external movement of the body and softness compliments the hardness.
  • Retains the traditional principles of Tai Chi.
  • Incorporates the knowledge of modern medical science so that the Forms become more balanced, physiological sound and more health oriented.

To do all these within six minutes are a real achievement.

The Cons of The 42 Forms

It is very hard to think of any negative point for The 42 Forms, perhaps the beginners might find it easier to learn The 24 Forms first before starting on the 42 Forms, as it is more difficult. It is a relatively “young” set, therefore has been scientific tested for health benefits. Although base on our knowledge of medicine and Tai Chi, many believe it should have greater benefits than The 24 Forms. For non-competition purpose, I slightly prefer The 48 Forms because it allows more time to express the contents.

While the competition time limit is 6 minutes, which does not allow a fuller expression of slowness with inner force, for normal practise it is recommended to do the Forms from 6 to 10 minutes.

Summary

The 42 Forms is well created with a great deal of thought and work. It contains a rich mixture of styles and techniques, yet breathes its own life as a wonderfully integrated set of Forms. It is designed to be suitable from the novice to the most advanced practitioners, fulfilling the modern needs, offering maximal benefits and techniques in a minimal time. Being beautiful to watch and practise, The 42 Forms has certainly proven to be very popular with many Tai Chi enthusiasts.